Top Image Mesa County Home
Child Welfare
Child Protection  

Child Protection

To report child abuse or neglect: in Mesa County (970) 242-1211 

All calls are confidential and your privacy is protected by Colorado State Law 

24 hours a day/7 days a week


Make the call- there is no right or wrong answers

Consider the possibility of neglect when a child:

  • Lacks needed medical or dental care
  • Is frequently absent from school
  • Begs for or steals food or money
  • Lacks sufficient clothing for the weather
  • States that there is no one home to provide care
  • Lacks adult supervision, abandonment
  • Shunned by peers

Consider the possibility of abuse when a child:

  • Discloses maltreatment
  • Is reluctant to be around a particular person
  • Shows sudden changes in behavior or school performance
  • Has unexplained bruises or injuries
  • Reluctant to change clothes
  • Complains or soreness, moves uncomfortably
  • Unexplained injuries/wounds/bruises

Questions to Consider when Calling

  • Names, Address, Phone, grade, gender, school
  • Explain the danger/harm & complicating risks
  • Child Info-(tell us about the child/ren)
  • What are the family supports or community resources
  • Protective behaviors of parent or caregiver
  • The culture within the child's home
  • What have you done to intervene?
  • What actions do you want Child Protection to take?

Signs of Abuse or Neglect

  • Emotional Abuse: Constant criticism, threats, or rejection, as well as withholding love, support, or
  • Physical Abuse: Non-accidental physical injury (ranging from minor bruises to severe fractures or death) inflicted by a parent or
  • Sexual Abuse: Fondling a child’s genitals,penetration, incest, rape, sodomy, indecent exposure, and exploitation through prostitution or
  • Neglect: Failure of a parent, guardian, or other caregiver to provide for a child’s basic
  • Institutional Abuse: Maltreatment caused by employees of an institution where the child

Child Abuse Stats

PowerPoint Reporting Abuse & Neglect

Quarterly CPT Report 

Important Numbers - Child Welfare

Mesa County Child Protection Hotline
(970) 242-1211 
State of Colorado Child Protection Hotline
1 844-CO-4-KIDS

Child Welfare 

Department of Human Services
Main Line (970) 241-8480 
Parent Help Line
(800) 244-5373 
Assistance Programs
(970) 248-2849 
Welfare Fraud Hotline
(970) 256-2421 
Child Support
(970) 248-2780  
Western Colorado 211
2-1-1 or (970) 244-8400
Foster Parent Info Line
(970) 248-2794  
Workforce Center
(970) 248-0871

Mesa County Logo with Text  Follow Us On  
Blogger Icon   Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon
        Mesa County Home           Comments/Feedback          Copyright/Disclaimer/Privacy           Webmaster